bandeau-1.jpg

News archives - 2017

The UQAM team wins the first CIRANO Budget Policy Challenge

CIRANO is pleased to announce that the UQAM team has won the first CIRANO Budget Policy Challenge. The team, supervised by Jean-Denis Garon, professor in the Department of Economics, is composed of Amor Aniss Benmoussa, Philippe Jacques, Pierre-Loup Beauregard and Samuel Mignault. The Université de Sherbrooke team finished second.

Congratulations to the team!

https://www.cirano.qc.ca/fr/actualites/715

Till Düppe receives a prize

Our colleague Till Düppe received the ESHET Young Researcher Award. This prize recognizes scholarly achievements of historians of economic thought at an early stage of their career. The prize is awarded to scholars below the age of 40 at the time of the annual conference in recognition of outstanding publications in the history of economic thought.

Congratulations Till !

http://www.eshet.net/index.php?a=47

Three new faculty members recruited in 2017

The Department is delighted to announce the recruitment of three new faculty members in 2017 :

  • Philippe De DONDER;
  • Étienne LALÉ;
  • Florian MAYNERIS.

 

The Department would like to extend these new colleagues a warm welcome and also thank the members of this year’s recruitment committee: Marie-Louise Leroux, Arnaud Dellis, Alain Guay, Julien Martin, Alain Paquet, Louis Phaneuf and Dalibor Stevanovic.

Mikhaïl Davidson and Antoine Thompson-Leduc in the recipents of the Analysys Group scholarship for 2017

Mikhaïl Davidson and Antoine Thompson-Leduc, a students in the Master's program in economics, is the recipents of the Analysis Group scholarship for the year 2017.  The scholarship consists of a $20,000 stipend and an internship at Analysis Group. Each year focuses on issues of applied economics.

Congratulations to Mikhaïl and Antoine !

In memory of Pierre Lasserre

Lasserre Pierre

 

In memory of Pierre Lasserre

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of our colleague and very dear friend Pierre Lasserre. Pierre was killed in a skiing accident on the slopes of the Mont Blanc Massif in the French Apls on Monday April 10.

Pierre’s passion and expertise was the study of resource and environmental economics. His research focused on investment, real option values and the rôle of institutions in economics.

His great kindness and compassion as well as his warm smile made him a dear colleague. He was appreciated and admired by all who came into contact with him. We miss you already Pierre.

Our sincerest thoughts go out to his wife, his children, and his family. We share your pain and loss.

 

Canadian Journal of Economics Supplement, April 2017

https://www.facebook.com/groups/203705003467005

bandeau-1.jpg

Archives de nouvelles - 2017

L’équipe de l’UQAM remporte le premier Défi Politique Budgétaire CIRANO

CIRANO a le plaisir d’annoncer que l’équipe de l’UQAM a remporté le premier Défi Politique Budgétaire CIRANO. L’équipe, supervisée par Jean-Denis Garon, professeur au Département des sciences économiques, est composée de : Amor Aniss Benmoussa, Philippe Jacques, Pierre-Loup Beauregard et Samuel Mignault. L’équipe de l’Université de Sherbrooke s’est classée deuxième.

Félicitations à l’équipe !

https://www.cirano.qc.ca/fr/actualites/715

Till Düppe reçoit un prix

Notre collègue Till Düppe vient de recevoir le Prix de jeune chercheur (Young Researcher Award) de la Société européenne de l’histoire de la pensée économique (ESHET). Le prix reconnaît les réalisations scolaires des historiens de la pensée économique au début de leur carrière. Il est attribué aux chercheurs de moins de 40 ans au moment de la conférence annuelle en reconnaissance des publications exceptionnelles en histoire de la pensée économique.

Félicitations Till !

http://www.eshet.net/index.php?a=47

Trois nouveaux professeurs embauchés cette année

Le Département a le plaisir d'accueillir trois nouveaux professeurs en 2017 :

  • Philippe De DONDER;
  • Étienne LALÉ; et
  • Florian MAYNERIS.

Le Département leur souhaite la plus chaleureuse bienvenue et tient à remercier le Comité de recrutement de cette année constitué de Marie-Louise Leroux, Arnaud Dellis, Alain Guay, Julien Martin, Alain Paquet, Louis Phaneuf et Dalibor Stevanovic.

Mikhaïl Davidson et Antoine Thompson-Leduc récipiendaires de la Bourse du Groupe d'analyse 2017

Mikhaïl Davidson et Antoine Thompson-Leduc, étudiants au programme de maîtrise en économique, sont récipiendaires de la Bourse du Groupe d'analyse pour l'année 2017.  Ils se voient attribuer chacun une bourse de 20,000$ ainsi qu'un stage au sein du Groupe d'analyse.  Chaque année, le Groupe d'analyse offre une bourse à un nouvel étudiant de maîtrise en économique dont les recherches portent sur des questions d'économie appliquée.

Félicitations à Mikhaïl et Antoine !

À la mémoire de Pierre Lasserre

Lasserre Pierre

 

À la mémoire de Pierre Lasserre

C’est avec une infinie tristesse que nous vous annonçons le décès de notre collègue et très cher ami Pierre Lasserre.  Pierre est décédé accidentellement sur les pentes de ski du Massif du Mont Blanc dans les Alpes françaises ce lundi 10 avril 2017.

Spécialiste et passionné de l’économie des ressources naturelles et de l’environnement, ses recherches portaient notamment sur l'investissement et les options réelles et sur le rôle des institutions dans la vie économique.

Sa grande gentillesse, sa compassion et son sourire faisaient de lui quelqu’un de très attachant.  Il était apprécié et estimé de tous ceux qui ont eu la chance de le côtoyer.  Pierre, tu nous manques déjà.

Nos plus sincères pensées accompagnent son épouse, ses enfants et sa famille.  Nous partageons votre peine.

 

Canadian Journal of Economics Supplement, April 2017

https://www.facebook.com/groups/203705003467005/